Accrediting Organizations

Association of Christian Schools International (ACSI)

The Association of Christian Schools International (ACSI) is the largest Protestant educational organization in the world. Since 1978, ACSI has advanced excellence in Christian schools by enhancing the professional and personal development of Christian educators and providing support functions for Christian schools.

The American Montessori Society (AMS)

The American Montessori Society is a vital professional organization dedicated to supporting quality Montessori education. Included among our members are approximately 1,200 Montessori schools.
AMS member schools can be privately owned or part of a public education system. They may be not-for-profit or for-profit, secular or parochial. Some are independent, while others are part of a larger organization or corporation, such as a university, a Montessori teacher education program, or a religious institution.
AMS member schools are located both within and outside the United States. Schools outside the U.S. are called “international member schools.”

The Association of Waldorf Schools of North America (AWSNA)

The Association of Waldorf Schools of North America (AWSNA) is a non­profit membership organization of independent Waldorf Schools and Institutes in Canada, the United States, and Mexico.

Christian Schools International (CSI)

Christian Schools International serves schools that celebrate God’s faithfulness, strive for excellence in Christian education today, and seek to position themselves for a sustainable future in service to our God. Christian Schools International invites each member school to be forward-thinking. We are the service organization that equips Christian schools for the challenges of the 21st century. We celebrate God’s faithfulness, but we also look ahead to strategically positioning Christian schools for a future of service to God, educating each generation to come.

Cognia (formerly Advanced Ed)

With Cognia’s foundation of meaningful standards and a holistic approach to accreditation, your school and your students are empowered to succeed.

National Lutheran School Accreditation (NLSA)

The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod’s School Ministry assists, equips and uplifts school educators, district staff, and especially education executives and congregational leaders so that through them children may be equipped as disciples of Jesus Christ.

Northwest Association of Independent Schools (NWAIS)

Northwest Association of Independent Schools accreditation is an ongoing process that helps each school clarify and enact its own vision, mission, and values to grow and develop.  Accreditation uses peer review to promote quality standards without standardization, ensuring each school remains true to its values while delivering a high-quality educational experience.  

Seventh Day Adventist (SDA)

The Accrediting Association of Seventh-day Adventist Schools (AAA) is the denominational accrediting authority for all tertiary and graduate educational programs and institutions owned by Seventh-day Adventist Church entities.

Western Catholic Education Association

The Western Catholic Educational Association is a private educational accrediting agency whose mission is to promote quality Catholic education for students in member elementary and secondary schools through an accrediting process that assures the primacy of faith formation and educational excellence.

The major purpose of this agency is to coordinate the accreditation process by assisting schools in their self-evaluative programs, to establish general standards for excellence, to grant WCEA Accreditation, and to cooperate formally with regional accrediting organizations as determined by the WCEA Board of Directors.