Annual Reporting Requirements

 

Keep your school data current with the State Board of Education

Receiving communication from SBE and OSPI requires that private school data is current in their systems. If your Head of School, location, or additional contact has changed since you submitted your previous year’s Private School Approval Application, please visit How to Update Private School Information | SBE (wa.gov)
 
 

Private School Requirements by WA State Law

The Washington State Legislature established that private schools should be subject only to those minimum state controls necessary to ensure the health and safety of students and that a sufficient basic education is met by graduation requirements.  RCW 28A.195.010 outlines the minimum requirements and exemptions that all private schools K12 schools must follow.  The State Board of Education is tasked with tracking these requirements by the legislature and provided clarification of the Teacher Certification Requirement for Private Schools in 2023.
 
 

Academic Year Requirements for Private Schools

Washington private schools need to provide 180 days or 1000 hours of education for their students.
To learn more about how Washington defines a school day, go here: https://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=392-121-033

 

Private schools are required to submit reports each year to comply with Washington state law.

 

EDS Access

In order to fulfill OSPI reporting requirements, private schools will need to use the Educational Data System (EDS). For instructions on how to gain access or receive a particular user role, please visit the EDS access page.

 

Clock Hour Provider

The Professional Certification Office at the Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI) requires an annual application to be an approved Clock Hour Provider for the subsequent school year.  The application window typically opens in February and must be completed before Aug 1 – no extensions granted.

Complete the 2023-24 Clock Hour Provider Application by August 1, 2023. After submitting the application, you will receive an automatic confirmation. If you do not receive a confirmation, please contact Kelli Adjepong.

 

Fingerprinting and Background Checks

WA State law authorizes approved private schools to require their employees to get a full background check through the Washington State Patrol (WSP) and Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI).

Schools can get this done for existing and new hires through the ESDs.  Many private schools do this for every employee every 5 years and for all new hires.

 

Mandatory rules for posting information regarding sexual abuse

Effective July 2019, RCW 26.44.030 requires that schools in WA State must display the poster about Child Abuse in a “common area” at the 8×11.5″ size.  Here is the English version pdf.  The poster provides specific information about:

  • Who is required to report child abuse and neglect
  • The standard of knowledge to justify reporting
  • The definition of reportable crimes
  • Where to report
  • What should be included in a report with appropriate timing

 

Reporting Child Abuse or Neglect

Resources on the DCYF (Department of Children Youth and Families) website are connected to Child Protective Services, which is the office that teachers/staff would need to call. https://www.dcyf.wa.gov/safety/report-abuse

 

School Health Care Support

The DOH School Module is an online registry of immunization records available to all public and private schools for FREE. The system is secure and easy to use for tracking student school-level immunization information. Here is a list of schools already using the School Module. If your school is not a current user and you are interested in getting access or have a question about the School Module, please email schoolmodule@doh.wa.gov.

 

School Security Personnel on Campus

Here are the laws on who can be on your campus and act as security. There is a lot of information in the various RCWs. The training for School Resource Officers refers to public schools but is considered best practices, so likely this is what an insurance provider will expect.

 

WA DOH guidance for care of children when air quality is compromised

In June 2023, the Washington State Department of Health (DOH) released a revised edition of the Washington Children and Youth Activities Guide for Air Quality. The new guide offers three specific changes:

  • Improved clarity to “activity duration” to make the recommendations more generally applicable to the broad range of children and youth outdoor activities. This now includes activities over 4 hours.
  • DOH’s recommendation is to consider canceling outdoor activities of 1-4 hours in duration at Unhealthy for Sensitive Groups (AQI 101-150), which includes all children and youth ages 18 and under and cancel outdoor activities of all durations at Unhealthy (AQI 151-200) unless they can be moved to safer air quality. There are additional options to modify the intensity level or duration of activities.
  • Detailed information is now included on indoor/outdoor air quality monitoring with low-cost sensors.

The revised guide and other resources are on DOH’s Smoke from Fires Took Kit Page.

 

WA School Bus Driver Rules

Washington State law requires that anyone driving a school bus must have a commercial driver’s license (CDL) Class B or C (depending on the size of the school bus) with a CLP-S – School Bus Endorsement. Please review the OSPI School Bus Driver Handbook for all details.  WAC 392-143-010 defines “School bus” to mean every vehicle with a seating capacity of more than ten persons, including the driver, regularly used to transport students to and from school or in connection with school activities.